Thursday, 8 December 2011

comesa -zambian government sign 4million euros power interconnector

The common market for eastern and southern Africa (COMESA) and government have signed an implementation agreement on the zambia-tanziania-kenya (ZTK) power interconnector project worth 4million Euros.
The project will address issues of reducing the cost of doing business in the region in order to enhance competitiveness in trade through energy service availability, accessibility and affordability.
The short and medium term intention of the Z-T-K is to supply energy from Zambia or southern African power pool (SAPP) to Tanzania and Kenya and the long term is to provide opportunities to conduct power trade in the region and facilitate the creation of a pan African power market from cape town in south Africa to Cairo in Egypt and Tripoli in Libya.
The project is under the regional integration support programme, a European union funded programme under the 10th European fund and the implementation agreement is specifically for the financing activities to establish and maintain a project implementation unit for the Z-T-K interconnector projector.
The Z-T-K interconnector project which is a 1,600kilometer, 400megawatts, bi directional 400killovolts power interconnector linking Zambia, Tanzania and Kenya and the SAPP has confirms power availability of minimum 400mega watts by the time Z-T-K will be commissioned
The objective of the power interconnector is to facilitate trade in power, offer improved reliability and security of power supply to both southern and eastern Africa.
It will also encourage investment in new generation by linking generation and customers through provision of power transmission capacity
In addition the power interconnector will promote economic development in eastern and southern Africa through closer regional integration and meet the immediate and future power demand in eastern and southern Africa by providing transmission capacity

1 comment:

  1. East African Community Common Market to establish after the entry into force on July 1, 2010, the approval of all five partner countries: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. It provides the "four freedoms" that the free flow of goods, labor, services and capital, which will greatly facilitate trade and investment, productivity and prosperity in the region.